Nintendo Switch: The Rest Includes Zelda at Launch

maxresdefault

I say again: I wasn’t blown away by the Switch launch. I think they spent too long with some of the details trying to justify the hardware. But once they got into the games? Oh. My. God.

First off, as I couldn’t contain myself in the last post, Fire Emblem Warriors is real. There was no footage and no date, but the fact that it’s real means I’m going to own a Switch.

Xenoblade 2 is also in production, as is the next Shin Megami Tensei title, as well as an RPG from Square that has a feel like Bravely Default but an art style that’s, well, stylish. I want all of those.

Super Mario Odyssey is a thing, too. This is the successor to Super Mario Sunshine we’ve been waiting for. Not in the sense of a continuation of the story, but of the gameplay of that title and of Super Mario 64. That one looks essential.

FIFA is coming to the Switch in the fall, though there’s no word if that will be the mainline game or something special.

Skyrim is coming, too, though that’s not really my thing.

Splatoon 2 is real. I love the style of the game, though I can’t say the play is entirely my thing. Iffy if I would get that.

But the bombshell was at the end. Because the trailer for The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, makes for an utterly stunning game. This game is way late. And looks to have been completely worth it. They came back to the line from the trailer at E3 at the end, too: Open your eyes.

And what do we see? That launch date: 3.March.2017.

I’m not sold on the Switch hardware, though at $299 in the States, it’s certainly doable. Damn it if they didn’t bring a lot of noise with games, though. I’d like more in the way of release dates. I’d like to know if more than the two colour options for the JoyCons are coming (plain grey or my preferred neon red and blue). And I’d like to know what games are actually going to be available at launch.

I will own a Switch. That wasn’t a sure thing before tonight. It is now.

About Evi Buell

Non-binary/trans, expressing the inner femme I've repressed all these years while exploring my identity and figuring out who I should be on the outside.
This entry was posted in Consoles, Games, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

